Nickelpicklemama's Blog

November 4, 2009

More than Worthy

Filed under: Uncategorized — by nickelpicklemama @ 7:30 am

So. I did it. I posted something every single day in October. Now, I’ll admit; due to having the flu and other distractions, some posts were rather dull. But… I did manage to fulfill the requirement. I’m proud of myself, bc I was determined to honor my nephew Peter, and the 31 for 21 challenge.

I read yesterday that due to the wide availability of prenatal testing and abortion, the number of children born with Down syndrome is dwindling every day. It’s estimated that 90% of pregnancies are terminated if the parents are given a prenatal diagnoses of Down syndrome.

Imagine. 90%! This statistic absolutely breaks my heart. I look at Peter and I see a child who is more than deserving of life. He is a valuable and essential part of our family. He is a person, regardless of how many chromosomes he has. As he bounds through life, bringing joy to everyone he meets, I can’t imagine a world that existed without his presence.

I know that regardless of all of the incredible things he brings to this world, there will always be those that view him as a tragic mistake. They’ll consider him as less than human, or as a drain on society The fact that there are people who won’t be able to look past his genetic makeup, and see the incredible person that he is, makes me immeasurably sad.

Peter is my nephew, and he has Down syndrome. I love him because of who he is, not in spite of it. He is bright, joyous, spunky, and full of life. He enriches our lives. He is not a birth defect, nor a tragic genetic fluke. He is Peter, and he is no mistake.

1 Comment »

  1. Well said! He’s adorable, too!

    Comment by Tara — November 5, 2009 @ 4:21 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

