Nickelpicklemama's Blog

October 26, 2009

The Unimaginable

Filed under: Uncategorized — by nickelpicklemama @ 4:47 am

My home town was recently rocked by a horrific and unimaginable crime. A young girl, just 9 years old, was found dead in the woods near her home. Her killer? A 15 year old boy.

Stories such as these make my heart literally ache. I can’t fathom the pain this child’s parents must feel. It terrifies me down to my core. The thought of something happening to take my son away from me; I just can’t even let my mind go there.

These kinds of things make me want to gather my loved ones, find a hidden and remote cave somewhere, and hide out the rest of our lives. Unfortunately, not even that could guarantee their safety. We are always just one step away from heartache and tragedy. We have to just do our very best. We have to love our children, and do whatever it takes to try to protect them from the evil that lurks in this world.

“Making the decision to have a child is momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.” ~Elizabeth Stone

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

