Nickelpicklemama's Blog

October 22, 2009

Funny Story

Filed under: Uncategorized — by nickelpicklemama @ 12:25 pm

My son Nick talked early, and he talked well. His vocabulary was almost creepy; you just didn’t expect to hear words like the ones that he used come out of the mouth of such a young child.

When he was about two years old, we were at the airport, waiting to board a plane to Florida. I was letting Nick wander around so he could expel his energy before the long flight. As he toddled his way around, I followed close behind him, and I watched him approach an elderly woman who had a horrific sounding cough. Before I could stop him, my little two year old said to this poor woman, “It sounds like you need some azithromycin. I had to take it when I had a respiratory infection. It cleared it right up.”

The woman stared at me as I apologized, aghast that she had received unsolicited medical advice from a toddler. I couldn’t help but marvel at my little man. I thought about explaining that the little guy was essentially going through nursing school, since I studied by reading my text books aloud to him every night. Instead, I just quickly apologized for our interuption, and walked away.

I still laugh remembering that day. I’m proud of little Nick. His observation was correct; she really did sound like she could use some azithromycin!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

