Nickelpicklemama's Blog

October 20, 2009

My Incredible Parents

Filed under: Uncategorized — by nickelpicklemama @ 1:03 pm

Wow. The last couple of days have been absolutely awful. I’ve never had a flu like this in my life, and let me tell you, it has not been fun.

In my very first post, I mentioned that I was “eternally grateful” for my parents, and I feel now is as good a time as any to explain why.

I’ve been sick since last Thursday. Probably sicker than I’ve ever been in my life. I’ve had high temperatures and barely enough energy to get up to use the restroom. And I’m a single mom; see how this could be a major problem?

Fortunately, my parents are absolutely incredible. When I woke up Friday morning with a temperature of 103 degrees, I knew without a doubt that I was not going to be capable of caring for my son. I called my parents. Without hesitation, my dad arrived shortly thereafter; Nick has been there ever since.

I am fully aware of how incredibly lucky I am to have them. My parents have always been more than willing to help me with Nick. With their help, I’ve managed to get both undergraduate and graduate degrees in Nursing; not an easy feat for the typical single mom.

They’ve helped me achieve all of my dreams and aspirations, and have always provided a soft place to land when times have been tough. Most importantly though, they have been incredible influences in my son’s life. My dad has joyfully provided the invaluable presence of a positive male role model. I know that they both love Nick every bit as much as I do; I couldn’t ask for anything more.

I don’t know how or if I will ever be able to adequately thank my parents for everything they have done for me and my child. Everything that is good in me, everything I have achieved, all of the joy I have in my life; I owe to my parents. I truly hope they know how much I love and appreciate them.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

