Nickelpicklemama's Blog

October 7, 2009

Blogging

Filed under: Uncategorized — by nickelpicklemama @ 8:44 am

After Peter was born, I sought help from the internet. Thank God for the Internet! I found information, but most importantly; I found blogs. I learned to avoid the medical type websites. I was a Master’s prepared nurse; I knew all too well the cold hard facts of what complications Peter Jr. could potentially face. What I did eventually find however, was exactly what I needed; I found blogs. Blogs guided my way along this journey. They allowed me to feel less alone, and they gave me a glimpse into what was to come.

Before Peter was born, the only real interaction I had had with children with Down syndrome was through work. This is the reason, I believe, that I was able to identify immediately the signs in Peter Jr. Because it is the nature of what I do, my previous experiences involving Down syndrome had been with extremely sick children. I had seen these children, and their families, at their very worst. Because of this, my fears following Peter’s birth were only magnified.

Through reading the blogs of other families who had children with Down syndrome, I was able to realize that Peter’s life was not going to center around hospitals and illness. I read, and I grew to love these families, and their amazing children. I learned that it was okay to mourn at first, bc you mourn what you had believed would be. But I also learned that eventually, the mourning ceases, and you begin to appreciate the beauty of what is.

Reading these blogs, in a way, humanized Down syndrome for me. At this time, Peter was still a tiny infant, and I was thus unable to see the incredible child he would become. But bc of the stories I found on the Internet, I was given hope. And sometimes, hope is all you need.

Thank you, Down syndrome bloggers*, for giving me the hope I so desperately needed!!

* I look forward to sharing a few of my very favorite blogs, but before doing so, I want to get permission from the authors. If/when I do, I’ll make sure to post the links. Thanks!!

1 Comment »

  1. I am so happy to be part of your journey! I began my blog for me, and it morphed into something that I hoped would help others. I’m so glad that it is 🙂

    Comment by Laurie — October 7, 2009 @ 10:07 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

